Introducing Johnson Olorode

Johnson
My name is Olanrewaju Johnson Olorode, (Johnson Olorode) I am studying for my Masters in Social Work at the University of Salford, Manchester, United Kingdom.
I have worked in Health and social care field for close to ten years and I have volunteered at Greater Manchester Aid Unit as a regulated Immigration adviser. You can connect with me on Twitter: @OJ_Olorode  
Over the years I have seen so many injustices done in our world to the  poor being treated unfairly and the voiceless being oppressed and I believe by becoming a social worker I will have the the power to make a difference by pulling communities together, help individuals and families find solutions, advance changes in social policy, promote social justice, and foster human and global well-being.
I have enjoyed all the aspect of my course but in particular I have enjoyed Critical Professional Practice which educated me about the relevant laws within which social work professionals should operate in every aspect of the profession, also I am enjoying my practice learning at a Local Authority which makes me able to apply some of the theories, laws and Acts in real work setting.
I am passionate about issues on stigmatisation of refugees and immigrants especially as my country has voted for Brexit (which in my own opinion is a pure nonsense) and how this affects future students in Europe. Also I am passionate about inequalities and austerity that has led to over a million using food banks per year in the UK, almost a third of all children are living in poverty and people dying just because they could not afford to heat their homes. These should not be happening in 21st Century Europe or anywhere in the world.
These have led me to have particular interest in some of the events such as ECONOMIC AND CHANGES: CONSEQUENCES FOR SOCIAL WORK and WORKING WITH REFUGEES IN TIME OF CRISIS just to mention a couple. I believe attending this conference will give me an avenue to get and share different ideas about social work and how it works in other countries in Europe including ways the barriers to challenging the boundaries could be addressed and promoting a sustainable future for the profession. Also I believe interaction with more experience practitioners and listening to them speak will widen my knowledge base as a student and give me more confidence going into the
profession. I believe at the end of the conference I can widen my professional network and see if there ways I can collaborate with others from other countries to work
together on a project.
Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

